The House of Fragonard, a story of Perfume making
A passionate dedication
It was shortly before the First World War that Eugene Fuchs, an entrepreneur at heart who had already been seduced by the magic of perfume, deicided to set up his own perfumery based on the novel concept of selling perfumery product directly to the tourists who were beginning to discover the French Rivera's charms. Parfumerie Fragonard was opened in 1926. Eugene Fuchs chose to name it after the famous Grasse-bron painter, Jean-Honore Fragonard (1732-1806), as a tribute to both the town of Grasse and to the refinement of 18th- century arts. Similarly, the choice of name expressed his desire to run his business in accordance with traditions.
This spirit has been loyally perpetuated by the three succeeding generations who have run and are still running the company. At their instigation new production plants and sales outlets have opened in Grasse, Eze and also Paris.
It was under the tenure of Jean-Francois Costa that the Parfumerie Fragonard went through a rapid expansion and modernization. As an avid art collector, during the 1970's he amassed a large and unique collection of antique perfume related items that has both enriched the Fragonard and given the town of Grasse a new cultural dimension.
Today, Jean-Francois Costa's daughters, Agnes and Francoise preside over the perfumer's destiny, and are as concerned as the preceding generation with continuing to build the company while adapting it to current market needs and desires.